Lasagna

Over the years, I have attempted to adapt most recipes to create traditional dishes. Until last week, lasagna seemed like an insurmountable task, even though I had finally found gluten-free lasagna noodles, I wasn’t sure how I’d re-create the taste (and texture) of ricotta cheese for my lasagna loving boyfriend. After some searching, I was able to find a great recipe, and success was had!  Not only did my family LOVE the lasagna, but they suggested I make extras and freeze them so that we can make them whenever we feel like.

1623510_658429771573_230039860_n

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs ground meat
  • 1 batch of pasta sauce
  • Double batch of Cashew Ricotta Cheese
  • Gluten-free lasagna noodles
  • Dairy-free mozzarella shreds (optional – I like Dayia Mozzarella Shreds)
  1. Brown meat (this would also taste delicious as a vegetarian dish) and combine with prepared sauce
  2. Prepare noodles according to directions on package (I used Rizopia brown rice lasagna noodles, which did not require pre-cooking)
  3. Layer lasagna as follows: sauce, noodles, cheese, sauce, noodles, cheese, sauce (I also sprinkled some Dayia Mozzarella Shreds on top)
  4. Cover with foil and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Remove foil and bake another 15 minutes. Remove from oven and let stand for 10 minutes before serving.

*this recipe made two 9×9″ lasagna,  or could make a larger one.

Leave a Reply

